Books By Tommy Hays

The Pleasure Was Mine

The Pleasure Was Mine is the story of three men: Prate Marshbanks, his grown son Newell, and his nine-year-old grandson Jackson — as they come to terms with the fading of Irene; wife and mother, heart and center of the family.

Read More

What I Came to Tell You

What I Came to Tell You, Tommy Hays’ latest novel, is a 2014 VOYA Top Shelf Pick for Fiction for Middle School Readers and a 2015-16 Nominee for the North Carolina Young Adult Award.

Read More

In The Family Way

Tommy Hays’ second novel, In the Family Way, won the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award for 2000 and was chosen for the Book of the Month Club.

Read More

Sam’s Crossing

Set in Atlanta in the 80’s, Sam’s Crossing was Tommy Hays’ first novel. Sam and Kate are a young couple who live together in Little Five Points, an edgy neighborhood with a host of interesting and sometimes dangerous characters.

Read More